Happy Holidays!

It’s already been a week since Thanksgiving (oops!) so I won’t bore you with the “things I’m thankful for” list. Pretty sure you can guess the biggest part of it πŸ˜‰

Thanksgiving went off without too many glitches. The turkey was fantastic but the dressing was a let-down (much too soggy). Everything was ready at the right time without too much stress….so all in all I call it a success! Harper was in a great mood for most of the day and we had such a good time celebrating her first Thanksgiving! I made her a onsie for the day using her handprint to make a turkey…..getting the handprint from a 5 month old is anything but easy! We made a slight mess….and I’m still finding paint in her hair a week later but it was cute!

Now that Turkey day is over we are in full Christmas swing! We drove upstate the other day to a Christmas tree farm and found the perfect tree to chop down. I have always wanted to chop down a Christmas tree, and we planned on doing it last year but my morning sickness got in the way! The only issue we found with chopping down your own tree is that they look really small when in a huge field….not so small in your living room! Haha! We drove around forever looking for the perfect tree (I might be slightly picky!) and eventually settled on one. It wasn’t as big as I was looking for, thank GOODNESS! πŸ™‚Β  It is huge! The height is perfect but the width is insane! We had to remove our buffet to make some room. The entire corner of the room is gone…and I love it! πŸ™‚ We have it decorated and Harper seems fascinated with the balls and lights. Every trip we take we bring home a ornament so each year our tree gets more and more special. Presents are arriving at the door every day (thank you amazon mom!) and Santa has been very generous πŸ˜‰Β  We didn’t do presents last year due to losing our jobs and having a million baby items we needed to buy so I’m making up for it this year! “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…”

The next few weeks will be busy with family pictures, doctor appointments, and travels home. Harper and I will be making the long 960 mile drive home to TX to visit family and do a quick Christmas while Dan works before doing the long drive back for Christmas Eve in Chicago! I’m hoping if I leave around 5pm I can do the majority of the drive with Harper asleep! Luckily I am a night owl (thank you night-shift) and I’m looking forward to some quiet time with coffee and a book on tape! Now just prayers that the weather cooperates. The snow has begun :*(

Leave a comment